CHAPTER 6

Nephi writes of the things of God—Nephi’s intent is to persuade men to come unto the God of Abraham and be saved.

1 Now I won’t give the genealogy of my ancestors in this part of my record, nor will I give it anywhere else on these plates which I am writing, because it is given in the record which has been kept by my father, so I will not write it in this work.

2 It’s good enough for me to say that we are descendants of Joseph,

3 and it doesn’t matter to me that I am giving a brief summary of the full account of my father, as the full account cannot be written on these plates since I want the space to write the things of God myself.

4 My whole intent is to persuade men to come to the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, and be saved.

5 Thus I do not write the things that are pleasing to the world, but the things that are pleasing to God and to those who are not of the world.

6 So I will give the commandment to my descendants that they should not fill these plates with things that are not of worth to the children of men.

