CHAPTER 2

Lehi takes his family into the wilderness by the Red Sea—They leave their property—Lehi offers a sacrifice to the Lord and teaches his sons to keep the commandments—Laman and Lemuel murmur against their father—Nephi is obedient and prays in faith; the Lord speaks to him, and he is chosen to rule over his brethren.

1 One night, not long after Lehi’s first vision, the Lord spoke to him in a dream, saying, “You are blessed, Lehi, for the things you’ve done, but because you have been faithful in declaring to the people what I have commanded you, they want to kill you.”

2 The Lord then commanded Lehi to leave Jerusalem and go into the wilderness with his family.

3 Lehi submitted himself to the Lord and His word, and so he did as the Lord commanded.

4 He gathered up his family and went into the wilderness, leaving behind his home, country, money, and luxuries, bringing only provisions and tents.

5 And he traveled the wilderness with his family, which consisted of my mother, Sariah, my older brothers, Laman and Lemuel, myself, and my younger brother Sam. He led us down by the borders near the shore of the Red Sea, and we traveled in the wilderness near there.

6 After we had traveled three days in the wilderness, my father pitched his tent next to a river in a valley.

7 He then built an altar of stones and made an offering to the Lord, giving Him thanks.

8 And he named the river (which the valley it ran through was in the borders near the mouth of the Red Sea, which the river emptied into) Laman.

9 When Lehi saw that the river emptied into the fountain of the Red Sea, he said to his son Laman, “My hope for you is that you might be like this river, continually running into the fountain of all righteousness!”

10 And he also said to his son Lemuel, “My hope for you is that you might be like this valley, strong and unwavering, being immovable in keeping the commandments of the Lord!”

11 He said these things to Laman and Lemuel because of their stubbornness, for they quietly complained against their father because he was a visionary man and he had them leave their home without their precious belongings and led them into the wilderness to die, saying he’d done so because of foolish imaginations.

12 Thus they complained against their father, thinking they were right being the eldest brothers, though they really complained because they didn’t know or understand the dealings of the God who created them.

13 Nor did they believe that Jerusalem, being such a large and strong city, could be destroyed as the prophets were saying.

14 While in the valley, my father spoke to them powerfully and filled with the Holy Spirit, to the point they began to shake, and he confounded them to the point that they dared not speak against him, so they did as he commanded.

15 And my father lived in a tent.

16 At this time I was quite young, but also large in stature, and I greatly desired to know the mysteries of God, so I cried to the Lord, and He visited me and softened my heart, and I believed everything my father had said, so I did not rebel against him like my brothers.

17 I then went to my brother Sam and told him everything the Lord had shown me by the Holy Spirit, and he believed me.

18 But Laman and Lemuel wouldn’t listen to me, and being grieved because of their insensitivity, I cried to the Lord for them.

19 And the Lord answered me, saying, “You are blessed, Nephi, because of your faith, for you have pursued me diligently, with a humble heart.

20 And as long as you keep My commandments, you will prosper and be led to a land of promise. Indeed, it is even a land which I have prepared for you, which is prized above all other lands.

21 And as long as your brothers will rebel against you, they will be cut off from the presence of the Lord.

22 And as long as you will keep my commandments, you will be made a ruler and a teacher over your brothers.

23 Behold, on the day that they will rebel against Me, I will curse them sorely, and they will have no power over your descendants, unless they rebel against Me also.

24 And if they do rebel against Me, they will be a scourge to your descendants in order to stir them up in the ways of remembrance.”

PREVIOUS CHAPTER

